Several Beta Eta alumni have gone on to serve Pi Kappa Phi at its highest levels by holding a position on one of the organization’s four boards.  Others have been recognized for their contribution to the fraternity at local and/or national level, while some have been recognized for their contribution as a student leader.  Beta Eta’s alumni chapter has also been recognized for its excellence in programming and communication by Pi Kappa Phi.  To learn more about the awards listed on this page, please see the descriptions below.


HALL OF FAME – the Pi Kappa Phi Hall of Fame recognizes those alumni who have distinguished themselves in their field of work and in doing so, have brought credit and honor to the Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity.  Only 26 brothers have been inducted into the fraternity’s Hall of Fame.

Alan Sundberg (’50)        Pi Kappa Phi Hall of Fame, Judiciary (1998)
Frank M Ryll, Jr (’62)      Pi Kappa Phi Hall of Fame, Commerce (2010)


MERIT CITATION – the Merit Citation recognizes an alumnus for “exceptionally meritorious service to Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity.”   Nominated by the National Council, and approved by the Supreme Chapter at its biennial meeting, no more than one member for every four thousand living alumni may be recognized every two years.  Only 190 men (with nearly 100,000 initiates of the fraternity) have been recognized with this honor.

Charles Cutajar (’62)       Merit Citation (2006)
Jeff Wahlen (AE ’81)        Merit Citation (2012)


ALUMNI AWARDS – Pi Kappa Phi’s Alumni Chapter of the Year award recognizes the fraternity’s alumni chapter that best serves its alumni through event planning and effective communication efforts.  The Alumni Newsletter of the Year award recognizes the top alumni newsletter based on frequency, varied content, depth of coverage, alumni news, and overall quality.

Alumni Chapter of the Year (2009, 2008, 2007, 2006)
Alumni Newsletter of the Year (2009, 2006)



Fred DiUlus (’59)
National Council, Secretary (1975 – 1979)
Frank M Ryll, Jr. (’62)
Pi Kappa Phi Properties Board (early 1980s)
Jeff Wahlen (AE ’81)
National Council, President, etc. (1998 – 2010)
John Pierce (’86)
Push America Board of Directors, Chairman, etc. (2003 – 2011)


STUDENT OF THE YEAR – the Pi Kappa Phi Student of the Year Award (now named the Phillip M. Summers Student of the Year Award) is the highest honor bestowed upon a student member of Pi Kappa Phi.  Recognizing leadership in the chapter room and in the classroom, this award is presented annually to only one student who illuminates the best and brightest within the fraternity.

Jeff Wahlen (AE ’81)       National Student of the Year (1985)
Eric Wahlen (‘85)            National Student of the Year (1988)
Michael Loy (’91)             National Student of the Year (1994)


PI KAPP SCHOLARS – the Pi Kapp Scholar Award is the oldest and most prestigious scholarship in Pi Kappa Phi.  The award recognizes student-leaders who excel academically while selflessly serving their chapters and their campus communities.

Ed Tenewitz (’72)              Pi Kapp Scholar (1972)
Eric Wahlen (’85)              Pi Kapp Scholar (1987)
Dave Wisniewski (’88)     Pi Kapp Scholar (1990)
William Boyce                  Pi Kapp Scholar (2010)


COUNCIL OF ARCHONS – Pi Kappa Phi’s Council of Archons recognizes the fraternity’s best and brightest chapter presidents. Over the course of forty years, fewer than 300 Archons have been selected for this honor, while over 4,000 have served as Archon during the same period.

Clark B. Reisinger ’68
Tom Caruso ’71
Ed Tenewitz ’72
John J. Kady ’82
John Sabor ’85
John F. Pierce ’86
Le Nichols ’87
Adam Fox ’09


OUTSTANDING ASSOCIATE MEMBER – The Outstanding Associate Member Award, a part of the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation’s broader Pi Kapp Scholars Program, recognizes the best Associate Members in the entire fraternity as evidenced by their contribution to Pi Kappa Phi and their campus community.

William Boyce ’09
Jonathan Schillace ’09

Loading posts...
Sort Gallery